Court dismisses suit against Osun APC caucus members


An Osogbo Magistrate Court on Friday dismissed the suit instituted against seven members of The Osun Progressives (TOP), a caucus of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Osun State and loyalists of Rauf Aregbesola, a former Osun governor and current Minister of Interior.

Presiding Magistrate, Olusegun Ayilara dismissed the suit filed by the Nigeria Police against the seven leaders of the caucus.

The Nigerian Police through its prosecutor, John Idoko, had on August 23, 2021 arraigned Alhaji Rasaq Salinsile, a former Osun APC Caretaker Committee Secretary and former Osun APC Chairman, Reverend Adelowo Adebiyi.

Others that were arraigned with the duo include; Kazeem Salami; Biyi Odunlade, former Commissioner under the last administration in the state; Barrister Gbenga Akano; and two APC members from Ilesa, Alaba Popoola and Azeez Adekunle.

They were charged to court for attempted murder, assault and breach of the peace.

Recall that it was after Magistrate Ayilara had during proceeding on September 25 adjourned the case that the prosecutor, Idoko, disclose that he was not aware that Governor Adegboyega Oyetola had directed a discontinuation of the case.

However, when the case came up at the court Friday morning, Magistrate Ayilara dismissed, discharged and acquitted the accused persons.

Leave a comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More